APPLICATION FOR BROOME COUNTY TRAFFIC DIVERSION PROGRAM

Driver's License Number: | Driver's License State: |

First Name: | Last Name: ‘| Date of Birth: |
Current Address: ‘|

City: | State: Zip Code: | Date Tickets Issued: |

1st Ticket Number: CHARGE:

2nd Ticket Number: CHARGE:

3rd Ticket Number: CHARGE:

4th Ticket Number: CHARGE:

CourtReturnableTo: ENTER COURT

To be eligible to enter the traffic diversion | meet the following requirements:

1. 1 have not previously completed the Broome County Traffic Diversion Program within the 18 months
preceding this application.

2. If currently charged with a speeding offense, it was for driving 30 mph or less over the posted speed
limit. If the offense was in a construction or school zone it must be for driving 20 mph or less over the
posted speed limit.

3. There was no motor vehicle accident involved in the ticket | was issued.

4. | have answered and pled not guilty to the ticket prior to the return date listed on the ticket.

5. My license is not currently suspended

Application Conditions

1. Any applicant who misrepresents any of the above facts or affirmations will forfeit the application fee

and be terminated from the diversion program.

2. All Applicants consent to a 45 day adjournment of their case to allow them to complete the program.

3. Any applicant who provides false or incorrect information in this application will be terminated from the
program and will forfeit the application fee

4. Failure to complete the program within 45 days of acceptance into the program will result in termination
from the diversion program and forfeiture of the application fee. Any terminated motorist will then have
to appear in court as though they had never been accepted into this program.

Please remember to enclose the following with your application:

A non-refundable certified bank check or money order for the amount listed on the application fee schedule on
page 2 (US currency only) made payable to Broome County Office of Management and Budget; (No Personal Checks or Cash)

A copy of all Traffic Tickets (or court notice in absence of ticket);

Broome County District Attorney's Office
C/0O Traffic Diversion Program
P.O.Box 1766
Binghamton, NY 13902

It is a crime, punishable as a Class A Misdemeanor under the Laws of New York, for a person, in and by a written instrument, to
knowingly make a false statement, or to make a statement, which such person does not believe to be true.

Please submit your application to:

Completed and signed on PRINT THIS FORM
(date) (Signature of Applicant)



INSTRUCTIONS

Any motorist who has been charged with up to four traffic tickets for a single traffic stop may apply for the
Broome County Traffic Diversion program. Upon the successful completion of the program, the motorist's tickets
will be dismissed, there will be no court fine or surcharge, no Department of Motor Vehicles Fees, and there will be
no record of conviction on the motorist's driving record.

Upon acceptance to the program a motorist will be given 45 days to complete a 6 hour traffic safety course
approved by the New York State Department of Motor Vehicles. The course may be completed in a traditional
classroom format, or online. After the motorist successfully completes the course, he or she will

recieve a certificate of completion from the course, a copy of which must then be forwarded to the Broome County
District Attorney's Office within the 45 days. There will be an application fee for admittance to the diversion
program, based upon the offense the motorist is charged for, as outlined below.

ELIGIBLE OFFENSES

1. No Misdemeanor Offenses are eligible.
2. Speeding offenses wherein the motorist is charged with going 30 mph or less over the speed limit is eligible
unless the ticket was for speeding in a school zone (V.T.L. 1180c), or a construction zone (1180f), in which case the
speed must be 20 mph or less over the speed limit to be eligible for this program. The application fee for all speeds
in construction & school zones, and for all other speeds greater than 20 mph over the speed limit is $400.
All equpiment violations are eligible.
All moving violations are eligible excluding failure to stop for a school bus (VTL 1174).
Driving While Ability Impaired by Alcohol (VTL 1192.1) is not eligible.
Seatbelt violations are eligible.
. Using a mobile phone or a portable elecronic device while driving in violation of V.T.L. §§ 1225-C or 1225-D (a
ﬁve point infraction) is eligible, however the application fee is increased to $400 instead of $200.

APPLICATION FEE
There will be a non-refundable application fee of $200 per ticket for all eligible offenses except for using a mobile phone or
a portable electronic device while driving violation of V.T.L. §§ 1225-C or 1225-D, speeding in a construction or school
zone in violation of V.T.L. §§ 1180f or 1180c, or any other speeding ticket for a speed greater than 20 mph over the speed

limit. The application fee for a V.T.L. §1225-C, §1225-D, §1180c, §1180f, or a speed greater than 20 mph over the speed
limit ticket is $400 per ticket.

Examples: If a motorist is charged with speeding, 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, and failure to signal, the application
fee would be $400, or $200 per ticket.

If a motorist is charged with speeding, 15 miles per hour over the speed limit, and using a cell phone, the application fee
would be $600, $200 for the speeding ticket and $400 for the cell phone ticket.

If a motorist is charged with speeding, 25 miles per hour over the speed limit (not in a work or school zone), the application
fee would be $400.

PN N U W

HOW TO APPLY

1. Before applying, make sure that you have plead "not guilty" to the court in which you are charged, either via mail
or in person. Failure to do so can result in the suspension of your license by the court.

2. You must complete page one of this application. After completing it, you must mail it to the Broome County
District Attorney's Office, along with a copy of your tickets or the court notice if you do not have the tickets, and a
certified check or money order in the amounts listed above, made payable to the Broome County Office of
Management and Budget, to the address listed on page one of this form.

AFTER YOU HAVE BEEN ACCEPTED
If you have been accepted into the program, you will be notified by mail of your acceptance. You will then have 45
days from the date on the notice to complete a New York State DMV approved traffic safety course. The course
must be an approved course from the NYS DMV Point Insurance Reduction Program. A list of approved classes
can be found at https://transact.dmv.ny.gov/pirp/#class. The course may be in person or online. Please note, the
fee for the traffic safety course is not included in the application fee to enter the program. You must mail proof of
your completion of the course to the District Attorney's Office within the 45 days or you will be terminated from
the program and your application fee will not be refunded.
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